Reflections On A Year Without RTW

IMG_2298

2014 was the year that I challenged myself to go without buying any new RTW clothing.  I set rules and parameters to make it do-able,but I still wasn’t sure I’d be able to stick to it.  I’d never exactly been a shopaholic, but I was susceptible to the siren call of a sale or a girls’ day out, and when I went I went large.

It was amazing to me how easy it was to stick to my rules.  I bought myself new bras, some new underwear, tights, and two new pairs of shoes, all which were in my “allowable purchases” category (Sorry, I haven’t caught the bra sewing bug yet and I might never.  My chest is, ahem, ample and needs a lot of support).  I thrifted and went consignment shopping when I felt the “new things” itch.  And I sewed the rest.

IMG_0512

I fell off the blogging bandwagon early this year, so I’m not actually sure how many makes I completed, but I got much better this year at making things I’ll actually wear.  Renfews and Plantains dotted my sewing landscape and permeated my wardrobe.  I made leggings and skirts and sweatshirts.  Some days I found that I was wearing an entirely me-made outfit without even trying to, and that felt pretty great.

FullSizeRender (1)

I’m proud to say that I made it through the year relying on thrift and creativity to dress myself nicely and express my personality.  I contributed the least I ever have to an industry that has always concerned me.  That’s a good feeling to me– I believe in voting with your dollars whenever you can, and I’m proud of voting for the right things this year.

Will I go back to buying RTW this year?  Yes.  Yes, I will.  When all is said and done, I love clothes and I like to dress nicely.  However, I will be considering my purchases carefully and making every effort to buy from ethical companies who treat their workers fairly.  I believe in supporting companies who are doing something right just as much as avoiding the ones who are doing something wrong.  I want to invest in quality purchases and will continue to avoid fast fashion.FullSizeRender

I will also keep sewing.  I dreamed up a winter capsule wardrobe and I’ve been steadily ticking things off the list.  This year, my goal is to use what I have.  I have tons of patterns and yet I sew up the same few over and over.  This year, my goal is to make up all the patterns I own, except for three (I’ve got some scary vintage coats and ballgowns in there and I believe in being realistic).  I want to get better at fitting and sewing wovens, because right now I’ve got the quick & easy knits thing sort of down.  I want to use up the beautiful fabrics I’ve been hoarding but am too afraid of ruining to use.

FullSizeRender (2)

I also want to blog more, because I have a habit of starting blogs and abandoning them a few posts in and adults should stick to their projects!  And I think I can do it. After all, I got through a year without Nordstrom and Zara and new leather jackets, and if I can do that, I can do anything.

One thought on “Reflections On A Year Without RTW

  1. Pingback: My Ethical Fashion Favorites | Thread Tension

Leave a Reply

