Salme Patterns Flared Mini Skirt

IMG_4594

I bought this pattern two years ago because I loved how simple and basic it was. Salme is one of my favorite pattern brands because the shapes are so simple and yet interesting. I think Salme is consistently overlooked as a wonderful pattern company. As soon as my pattern-buying ban is over with, I have my eye on quite a few of their pieces.

IMG_4596

This skirt is great for many reasons, but mainly because it uses a miraculous single yard of fabric! I picked up a yard of this gorgeous Oscar De La Renta boucle two years ago for my birthday when I turned 26 (god, that seems long ago now!) in one of Mood’s 50% off flash sales. By the time I got around to making this, a full year and a half later, I’d already made two versions of this skirt, which just goes to show that the more you make something, the better it gets!

IMG_4591

This skirt is so simple, just a short half circle with a waistband and an invisible zip, but here’s some of the steps I took to make it a really polished make I’m really proud of:

  1. I used my high-quality, “special” fabric.I cut into this boucle and I’m glad I did because it was gorgeous! I think I wasn’t too nervous about using it because it was on sale, but regardless, using nice fabric will get a nice result. A good lesson for those of us (like me) who hoard and are afraid to use their nicest fabrics for fear of ruining them.
  2. I lined it. I generally dislike lining things because I feel like it takes too long and makes some items too hot (I am a really sweaty person, so if there’s ever any possibility of me using the garment in the spring or summer, lining it is out of the question). In this case, I knew the skirt was too short to ever be worn without tights, so to prevent it sticking to my tights and to add an extra layer of warmth for the Chicago winter, I added a rayon Bemberg lining. In the end, I really like the clean finish and the improved wearability.
  3. I took my sweet-ass time with the invisible zip. Like linings, I really dislike invisible zippers because they’re so fiddly. However, I took my time with this one and I’m pleased with the result! Truly invisible!
  4. I hemmed it with bias binding. I’ve found that, with a curved hem, I would rather save myself the hours and hours of hand stitching and just do a very precise and clean bias binding finish. For this one, I used narrow binding because this skirt is so short I didn’t want to sacrifice the length. Also, I used store-bought binding. It just looks better than the stuff I make myself. No regrets. Pick your battles!
  5. I interfaced the waistband. Goes without saying, but this makes a huge difference!
  6. I ditched the hook and eye. I don’t generally like hook and eyes that much, so I finally decided to just stop using them. Instead, I sewed a buttonhole to the inside of the waistband so I could button the top with a hidden button. Clean and functional!

IMG_4592

These all might be commonplace tips, but it really brings me pride to see how far I’ve come since I began sewing. The original version of this skirt I made was in black linen, and I wore it to death despite the ragged raw edges and “baby hem” that made the thing scandalously short.

IMG_4597

One thought on “Salme Patterns Flared Mini Skirt

  1. Skirt looks great. I, too, find invisible zippers super fussy, and I have to make myself be patient with them. Lining is good; I’m a big believer in slips because I hate static cling, and a lining takes care of that. Finally, thanks for pointing me toward another small pattern company. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

